Blueberry Zucchini Muffins


IMG_4996
Yea. I just made healthy muffins. Wait what?
IMG_4987
These muffins are loaded with good things like shredded zucchini, fresh blueberries and whole wheat flour. Greek yogurt is a healthier alternative to butter/oil to keep these muffins moist. Cinnamon adds flavour and according to google, it’s pretty good for you too!
IMG_5004
If you’ve never tried baking with zucchini, you’re probably feeling a little skeptical. I know I was at first, until I baked this double chocolate zucchini bread. It immediately became one of my favourite indulgent breads to bake, and my manly man housemate totally approved and managed to eat a slice every day for a week! You totally can’t taste any sort of zucchini/vegetable flavour in that bread or these muffins.
IMG_4993
These muffins are bursting with fresh blueberries and I love how pretty the green and blueish-purple looks. These are the perfect springtime muffin after a long winter season, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!
IMG_4999
Blueberry Zucchini Muffins
Yields: 12 muffins 

Ingredients:
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
zest of 1 lemon
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 1/2 cups zucchini, shredded
1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)
Directions:
Preheat your oven to 350ºF. Line a muffin tin with 12 liners.In a small bowl, stir together the flours, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and lemon zest.  In a large bowl, beat together the sugar, eggs, vanilla and greek yogurt.  Slowly stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated.  Fold in the zucchini and blueberries.Scoop 1/4 cup batter each into the wells of your lined muffin tin.  Bake  for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool slightly in the pan, then remove to a wire rack to cool.Store in an airtight container – can be frozen, well wrapped, for up to two months.
—SOURCE—
adapted from Cooking Ala Mel

 

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. they look delicious! i never thought of putting zucchini and blueberries together.

    Reply
  2. These sure do look delicious and i am sure they are. I can just imagine the blueberries bursting with flavour as you bite into them. I have to put this on my list to bake 🙂 thank you for sharing this yummy recipe and I too love the colour mixture, will be great for a spring bake.

    Reply
  3. I second what dollyandoatmeal said! I want that for breakfast!

    Reply
  4. Gorgeous recipe Lianna… love the healthy twist of the zucchini. Argh, I should probably steer clear of making these though, as I reckon I’d eat a few of them every day under the guise of eating ‘health’ food!!! Thanks for sharing your beautiful recipe though. Yum! x

    Reply
  5. Way to go with the healthy recipe, Lianna 😉 I love baking with both carrot and zucchini and you’re right, you can’t taste it in the final product. These muffins look crazy moist and that bright purply-blue burst of the blueberries is making me drool. Thanks for thinking of my nutrition with this one!

    Reply
  6. I bet these cupcakes are super moist. I would have to hide the zucchini a bit more from my teenagers as you know oh my goodness zucchini is a green vegetable, more pureeing should do the trick.

    Reply
  7. We’re all for healthier muffins. These look great.

    Reply
  8. I’ve been trawling the web for healthy breakfast ideas, and these are totally going on the list 🙂 They look awesome!

    Reply
  9. so creative to mix Blueberry and Zucchini. It should taste delicious….danny

    Reply
  10. This looks soo delicious and really unique. I love the combination of the zucchini and and blueberry 🙂

    Reply
  11. Such a unique combo! I’ll have to try it!

    Reply
  12. Jessica Hill

     /  August 13, 2013

    This recipe DOES taste delicious! I made it for my family on the weekend and everyone loved it. The zucchini hater definitely noticed the green, but ultimately said he couldn’t taste it and that the muffins were very good!

    Reply
  13. Sav lope

     /  August 24, 2013

    can you bundt pan for this ? just wondering thank you

    Reply
    • Hi! I’m so sorry for the late response. You can definitely bake this in a bundt pan instead of individual muffins, you will most likely need to increase your baking time though. Check around the 25 minute mark and keep checking until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. I hope that helps!

      Reply
  14. These look SO wonderful!! I love how they turn out purple-green. They look both fun and delicious. 🙂 Glad I found your blog!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

