Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_4806

I’ve decided that a week (and a half) is a perfectly acceptable length of time to mope around, contemplate buying a plane ticket and running way, and consume an embarassing number of microwavable chocolate mug cakes in order to get over the feeling of having a giant hole in my heart. But now I’m back to reality and back to normal! Thank you so much for your love on my last post. Your sweet comments meant the world to me and I adore you. Which is why I want to share with you this carrot cake with cream cheese frosting!

IMG_4791

I really love carrot cake, especially with cream cheese frosting. It’s one of my favourite flavour combinations, yet for some reason up until now I had never baked one myself! To be honest I think I was a little scared to try out a recipe and be disappointed. More often than not, the carrot cakes I’ve tasted have either been too dry, too dense or lacking in flavour. I was so happy with the way this cake turned out though. The carrot cake itself is plain and simple, yet so moist and fluffy. I love how the grated carrots add a lovely pop of orange colour as well. The cream cheese frosting is perfection and if you’re like me and bake your cake in a bundt pan then you will have leftover frosting to snack on 🙂

IMG_4805

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

For the cake:
2 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups grated carrots

For the frosting:
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, room temperature
1 pound (16 oz) powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract


Directions
:
Preheat oven to 350F.

Mix together the sugar, oil and eggs in a large bowl. In another bowl sift together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon. Add the flour mixture to first mixture and combine. Then add carrots and stir in gently. Pour into a greased and floured pan (bundt, sheet cake, 9 x 13 pyrex) and bake at 350F until cooked through, 25 minutes (sheet cake) to 50 minutes (Bundt pan), depending on the pan you use.  Cool completely before frosting.

To make the frosting, in a large bowl, cream togetherbutter and cream cheese. Add sugar and vanilla and blend together very well until creamy. Spread on cooled carrot cake. Enjoy!
—SOURCE—
slightly adapted from The Pioneer Woman
Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Looks soooo divine!

    Reply
  2. Anjo Angela Lim

     /  March 26, 2013

    I’m always on the search for “the” carrot cake! Will def. try this out, looks scrumptious! The Superstore carrot muffins were always my guilty pleasure….sshhhhh 😉

    Reply
    • mmm when I was young the giant packs of Costco muffins were my guilty pleasure 😛

      Reply
      • Anjo Angela Lim

         /  March 29, 2013

        OH YES! They are still my guilty pleasure. Love their chocolate and lemon poppy seed. Sadly no carrot muffin version…..hehe

  3. I am sure this delicious cheesecake will have you feeling better in no time flat. Nice photos

    Reply
  4. looks awesome. i love your version of a carrot bundt cake! i don’t think i have ever seen a carrot cake baked in a bundt pan.

    Reply
  5. The cake looks so dramatic up against that black backdrop! Not to mention totally luscious with that pile of frosting slathered on top–YUM. I really like your style aka no pineapple or nuts or raisins in your carrot cake! That grosses me out–I only like carrots in my carrot cake haha.

    PS. As much as I like the idea of microwave mug cakes to get over trip nostalgia, I vote for buying another plane ticket and running away. I want to see part II (and III, VI, etc.) of your romantic love story!!!!

    Reply
    • haha I think my waistline would probably appreciate the plane ticket as well 😛 every time I get thisclose to running away I hide my credit card and force myself to question my sanity. it’s been working so far, so part II will have to wait!

      Reply
  6. I’m obsessed with carrot cake! It’s soooo good and your recipe looks amazing! x

    Reply
  7. This looks amazing! I love that you baked it in a bundt pan – so pretty!

    Reply
  8. I love carrot cake- I have it for every birthday and treat time in between : ) Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to make it myself! I have also been nervous to mess it up but I trust your confidence! I would add some crushed nuts on top of that frosting though..

    Reply
    • definitely don’t be worried about messing it up, I think that would be very hard to do with a recipe like this! crushed nuts (pecans?!) would look quite lovely on top of the frosting, I like the way you think!

      Reply
  9. Yum, looks so good with all that icing. (Aren’t microwave chocolate cakes so awesome/dangerous to know that chocolate cake is only 2 minutes away at all times?!)

    Reply
  10. This cake is such a delish!

    Reply
  11. Vanessa

     /  March 28, 2013

    Your Cake looks so good! Will bake this Carrot Cake for Easter. I’m from Germany and for me it is totally normal to bake the Carrot Cake (Germany: Karottenkuchen :)) ) in a Bundt Pan!

    Reply
  12. i love making a carrot cake with proccessed carror but none with grated…
    i hink it’s tempting to try….
    btw your cream ceese frosting looks so smooth and adorable…

    Reply
  13. ahhhh this looks so delicious! I always seem to screw up carrot cake but I have to give it another try!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Definitely give it another try, you won’t regret it once you realize how heavenly it smells when it’s baking, or once you have a giant slice slathered in frosting in front of you 🙂

      Reply
  14. I love carrot cake with cream cheese frosting! This looks delicious. Lovely post…

    Reply
  15. Girl, I absolutely ADORE carrot cake smothered in thick, glorious cream cheese frosting. Like you, I’ve never made it before – WHAT is up with that?! This looks divine – I need it in my life stat. And you take as much time as you need to mend your heart. You’re a sweetheart and I hope you feel better soon.

    Reply
  16. This frosting is indescribable – I could cry In the bowl!! AWESOME RECIPE!

    Reply
  17. This looks so delightful and delicious! I want to try making this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
    http://www.biteintonutrition.com

    Reply
  18. My gosh. Carrot cake is my favorite so I’ll definitely test this out!

    Reply
  19. Marie B

     /  March 9, 2014

    Just made this cake yesterday It was my first carrot cake also. It was delicious! Lots of compliments. I made it in a bundt pan too. Thanks for a great recipe 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

