Steel Cut Oats with Apples and Raisins

IMG_4839

I know these past few weeks I haven’t been posting as regularly as I normally have been and I’ve been feeling really guilty about it. The truth is I’ve been feeling so short on spare time lately and a little uninspired. I’m also going to be away on spring break in a few days so I probably won’t be able to get a post in for another week or so, but hopefully when I return I’ll have lots of great pictures and stories and recipes to share with you!

When it comes to my marathon training, I usually do my long runs on the weekends when I naturally have more time and daylight. I try to go first thing in the morning, and since I know I’ll be out running for at least 2 hours I really make an effort to get a filling and nutritious breakfast in beforehand. Enter these steel cut oats! I’ve never had steel cut oats before but have been hearing great things about them for a while. In short, steel cut oats are less processed than your regular oats and therefore retain more of their nutritional value. They also take longer to digest and therefore make you feel fuller for longer. Steel cut oats have a chewier texture than regular oats which I actually really enjoyed. I loved the combination of apples, cinnamon and raisins and have already made it twice in the past couple of weeks, which is really saying something! 🙂

Steel Cut Oats with Apples and Raisins

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:
3 cups water
1 cup (2% or 1%) milk
1 tbsp. unsalted butter
1 cup steel-cut oats
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. ground cinnamon
1 apple, peeled, cored and grated
1/3 cup raisins
¼ cup maple syrup

Directions:
Combine the water and milk in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a simmer.  Meanwhile, melt the butter in a 10- or 12-inch skillet over medium heat.  Add the oats and toast, stirring occasionally, until golden and fragrant, about 2 minutes.

Stir the toasted oats into the simmering liquid.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer gently until the mixture is very thick, about 20 minutes.  Stir in the salt, cinnamon, apple, raisins and maple syrup.  Continue to simmer, stirring occasionally, until all of the liquid has been absorbed and the oatmeal is creamy, about 10 minutes more.  Remove from the heat and let stand 5 minutes before serving.

—SOURCE—
Annie’s Eats, from The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Looks really delicious! I eat oatmeal every morning for breakfast and apples are my favorite fruit. I always add cinnamon and maple syrup to my oatmeal too…with some sliced almonds on top. Love the apples!

    Reply
  2. Hey Lianna, I feel you on the no-time thing. I only post once a week now because there is ZERO time to bake or blog during the week so I cram what I can into the weekend. Plus, we don’t have facebook at work and a lot of social media sites are blocked (lame!) so I can’t even visit a lot of blogs to comment on during the week. At least you’re doing something super productive and healthy in marathon training. All i do is sit on my ass, eat and grow sideways! I’ve never had steel cut oats either but a good friend of mine used to eat it every morning. I’ll definitely give your recipe a try.

    Reply
  3. Thanks, Nancy!! I always love reading your comments, you always manage to make me smile 🙂 Definitely lame that you can’t access the funner sites at work but the weekends seem to work out for you because you always have something ridiculously amazing to share with us then!

    Reply
  4. I just tried steel cut oats for the first time. They are terrific… must add apples and raisins next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

