Coconut Raisin Granola

IMG_4865

Where the heck have the days gone? I’m pretty sure I said this last week as well, but the days have just flown by in a blur. I’m usually pretty busy throughout the week with 8 hour shifts at the hospital taking up my weekdays, but a few weeks ago I registered to run my first full marathon at the end of May and trying to follow a training schedule has really worn me out. I’m ridiculously excited to push myself the day of and see just what I’m made of when I attempt to run 26 miles (42.2 km) for the first time ever, but now that I’ve incorporated longer runs and more intensive sessions at the gym I’ve been feeling so tired these past 2 weeks. I’m starting to realize that I’m not consuming enough calories to maintain my marathon training, which is probably why I’ve been feeling so weak lately. I usually eat 3 healthy meals a day with 2 snacks in between, but now I’m finding that I need a few more snacks to keep my body fuelled after a workout. Granola with greek yogurt was one of the first healthy snacks that came to my mind and so this morning I made 2 big batches of granola, the first being this coconut raisin granola.

IMG_4864

Granola can be enjoyed with milk or yogurt, or even just plain but I like mine best with greek yogurt. I’m not a nutritional expert, but I know that this winning combination supplies me with protein, fibre, calcium and probably a few other good things too πŸ˜› Β The best part is that it’s pretty easy to whip up a batch of granola and now I’m guaranteed to have a great snack ready when I need it πŸ™‚ I hope you are enjoying your weekend, I have a 5k race tomorrow that should be interesting enough seeing as the sky has been dumping wet snow all morning!

Coconut Raisin Granola

Yields: 6 cups

Ingredients:
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 cup coconut oil, liquid state
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
3 cups old fashioned or rolled oats
1 cup sliced almonds (I used whole almonds)
1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, lightly packed
1 cup raisins

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, coconut oil, nutmeg, and salt until smooth. Stir in the oats, almonds, and coconut flakes until mixture is evenly coated.

Spread out evenly on a rimmed baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until lightly toasted and fragrant. Stir in raisins. Cool before storing in an airtight container at room temperature.

Serve with milk, yogurt, or by the handful.

—SOURCE—
barely adapted from Pastry Affair

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Wow, Lianna, good for you! I’m always in awe of people who train for marathons, usually because I can’t even begin to imagine doing it myself. It takes a lot of hard work, effort, endurance and will-power – things I very clearly lack! I’d happily make this granola though to munch on while I’m couch surfing πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I’m definitely testing my limits with this marathon haha Granola is a pretty good snack for lazing around as well πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. This looks and sounds amazing! Good luck on your marathon!

    Reply
  3. You are so talented! Your recipes and photography are always great πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing- you know how much I love granola haha

    Reply
  4. yum…cocount raisin sounds delish…hope your training is going well…lovely post..sarah

    Reply
  5. Perfect timing for this recipe as the Hong Kong Marathon was this weekend and wow what a turn out of people! I think you recipe will be a great recovery food. Take Care, BAM

    Reply
  6. Awesome! I love this coconut granola. That’s a great recipe adding in all the coconut. It looks really delicious and so simple, yummy! I have a bag of coconut I need to use up too!

    Reply
  7. This looks like such a delicious and tropical combo! Coconut and raisins…makes me think of almond joy, or should I say “raisin joy” :P?

    Reply
  8. Ooh this looks perfect!

    Reply
  9. I love granola and this looks perfect. I love the aromatic coconut in it. πŸ™‚ So lovely. I love my granola with yogurt and some berries. So good!

    Reply
  10. A marathon – good for you! I’ve done a few 10 k runs but I’m waaay too much of a wimp to try 42.2!! I’m going to whip up a batch of granola today in fact – my favorite breakfast with Greek yogurt. Love the whole almonds in yours, so tasty looking.

    Reply
  11. This is right up my alley! Love the looks of the crunchy coconut. Great job!:)

    Reply
  12. Gosh, your pictures here are breathtaking! Love this recipe!! Delicious looking πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

