Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins

IMG_4728Sorry for my absence this past week! I caught a nasty bug earlier this week that had me throwing up all night and left me bed-ridden for 3 days after. Today is the first day I’m feeling somewhat normal and have managed to have more than a small piece of toast in my system. The thought of any kind of food other than tiny pieces of toast and chicken noodle soup had made me really nauseous but this morning I woke up bright and early craving eggs, bacon and blueberry muffins. My fingers are crossed that my appetite is back for good and here to stay!
IMG_4723It probably took about half an hour from start to finish to have these oatmeal blueberry applesauce muffins freshly baked and ready to eat in front of me. Whole wheat flour and oats along with applesauce and fresh blueberries make these a somewhat healthier breakfast option and I’m happy to say that I’m already craving another one 🙂 I hope you have a fabulous weekend!

Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins

Yields: 12 muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cups oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tbsp canola oil
1 large egg, lightly beaten
3/4 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375˚ F.

Line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper liners or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a medium bowl combine applesauce, buttermilk, sugar, oil and egg. Make a well in dry ingredients and add applesauce mixture. Stir until just moist. Fold in blueberries. Divide the batter evenly between the 12 muffin cups, filling to about 2/3 full.

Bake for 16-18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin from the middle of the tray comes out clean.

—SOURCE—
slightly adapted from Joy the Baker

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. These are beautiful, and sound delicious! I bet they would be amazing for brunches 🙂 Thanks for the awesome recipe as always!

    Reply
  2. Sorry to hear you were under the weather. These look great and like they’d make anyone feel better after a bug.

    Reply
  3. Hey Lianne, I’m sorry to hear about how sick you were but glad to hear you’re on the mend. Thank God you got your appetite back, lol. Nothing is worse than not being able to eat. These muffins look perfect and I love that they’re healthy. I can’t wait to make them.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your kind words 🙂 I think getting my appetite back as well as my usual cravings definitely was the best part about getting better haha I’m still loving these muffins on day 2, I’m sure you will as well!

      Reply
  4. I’ve been on a muffin kick the past few weeks and these look great! Glad you’re feeling better.

    Reply
  5. Courtney

     /  August 31, 2013

    I made these muffins a few days ago and they are AMAZING and will be my go to recipe from here on out! Thank you!

    Reply
  1. Cosmetic Love! « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

