Sausage and Kale Cassoulet

IMG_4497

So I just want to start off by saying thank you so much for all of your kind words and comments on my last post. I can’t even begin to describe what an amazing feeling it is to read all of the positive and personal things that you took the time to write out to me. You are the best, thank you!

I’m definitely feeling a lot better about everything right now, although the past few days have been hilariously nightmarish. On Saturday I willingly went with my friend Alex to try out a circuit fitness class. Holy crap, let’s just say that it was an hour of pure torture involving several jumping squats amongst other cardio/weight training exercises. I felt relatively fine afterwards, but the next morning, the day Alex and I were supposed to do a 5 km race, I honestly woke up in bed and just lay there because any slight movement caused such severe muscle pain. Anyways I forced myself to get up and managed to do the 5km run (can I add that it was -16°C outside?!), here’s a happy picture of Alex and I before the run:

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 10.13.45 PM
I’m not sure how I managed to run 5km in the state my body was in, but I’ve pretty much been limping around everywhere ever since, and it still hurts for me to do the simplest things like sit down and cross my legs. Ouch.

Now I’m not sure how cold it’s been where you live, but where I am it’s been freezing all week and just yesterday the sky opened up and dumped a lot of snow on us. It’s been so crummy outside that all I want to do is stay inside where it’s warm and eat this sausage and kale cassoulet, which is pretty much comfort in a bowl. Essentially a poor man’s stew, beans, sausage and kale compliment each other quite nicely and makes for a really filling and healthy meal. If you have snow like we do, this stew is a great way to keep warm!

IMG_4489

Kale and Sausage Cassoulet

Ingredients:
1/2 lb (8 oz) dry great northern beans
1 medium yellow onion
4 cloves garlic
1 whole bay leaf
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes
2 cups chicken broth
1 bunch kale

Directions:
Pick through the dry beans to remove any stones, debris, or bad beans. Place them in a bowl and cover with cool water. Let soak in the refrigerator over night.

The next day, chop the onion and peel the garlic cloves. Place both in the bottom of a slow cooker. Drain off the beans, rinse them briefly, and add them to the slow cooker as well. Place two sausage links on top of the beans and add the bay leaf, thyme, oregano, and rosemary. Pour the can of diced tomatoes and chicken broth over top of everything.

Place the lid on the slow cooker, turn the heat on to high, and cook for 4 hours.

After four hours, the beans should be tender. Remove the bay leaf. Tear the kale leaves from their stems and tear them into small pieces. Place the torn leaves in a colander and rinse well. Stir the kale into the slow cooker until it has wilted down. Remove the sausage, slice into pieces, and then return them to the slow cooker. Taste the cassoulet and add salt and pepper if desired (I didn’t need to add either). Serve hot.

—SOURCE—
Budget Bytes

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I can’t imagine running in the weather..you are tough. This stew looks really interesting to me. Don’t think I’ve seen Kale before. How does it taste like?

    Reply
  2. looks delish..i’ve got some white beans on hand, might give this recipe a try this weekend..lovely post..sarah

    Reply
  3. Girl, you are hard core! I would’ve crawled into bed and called it a day if I were in that much pain. You should be proud of yourself for not being as lazy as I am 😉 This sausage and kale cassoulet looks mouth-wateringly hearty – it’s delicious comfort in a bowl.

    Reply
  4. I love this soup! Great recipe!!

    Reply
  5. Yum! Kale, white beans, and sausage are one of my favorite winter combos!

    Reply
  6. this is the kind of food i want to eat every day now

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

