Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

IMG_4613I’ve been feeling a little down in the dumps this past week with very little motivation to do anything really. All I’ve been wanting to do these past couple of days is to bury myself in my bed and just watch movies on Netflix on repeat. I’ve been replacing all of my outdoor runs with sessions on the treadmill at the gym this month because with the snow and extremely cold weather we’ve been experiencing this January it’s been difficult to run outside. However two days ago I got up early, made myself these pancakes (which I’ll get back to in a sec) and then ventured outside into -20°C/-4°F weather and ran just under 10km. This is probably the coldest temperature I’ve run in, and despite wearing 2 pairs of leggings and 4 long sleeved shirts, it still took me at least 5 km to actually warm up. I’m so glad I went though as the cold, crisp air really cleared my mind and helped to put things into perspective for me.

I feel like all my life I’ve always been putting other people first, before me. I always did what made other people happy, and if I did something that made me happy but made someone else upset I would feel horribly guilty for it and wouldn’t be able to shake the feeling that I had upset someone.  This past year I’ve really grown as a person and decided that enough was enough, I refuse to do things I don’t want to do, just to keep others happy. I’m going to do the things I want to do, when I want to do them and how I want to do them. I’m no longer interested in compromising my happiness just to keep someone else happy. The reason I’ve been feeling so down is because this time around I wasn’t afraid to change something in my life even if it meant upsetting a friend. However ever since I made that change I feel like I have constantly been punished in my relationship with them. Things are constantly changing in life and unfortunately so do friends. However in this ever-changing world we live in where people come and go, there have been a few friends that have stuck around and are still there for me when I need them, no matter what. And I’m happy to say that those are my real friends.
IMG_4626I’m really sorry for that massive, selfish rant, so now onto something a bit more positive! I’m constantly on the lookout for a good pancake recipe to bookmark for a weekend breakfast when I have a bit more time to play around in the kitchen. These pancakes are great in that the batter comes together quite quickly in one bowl! Peanut butter, a banana and coconut oil all go into these fluffy pancakes but not enough to take away from the chocolate chip oatmeal cookie flavour. Whether you are about to go for an hour-long run or just laze around the house watching movies, these pancakes are effortlessly good and I know I will be making them again soon 🙂

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Yields: 2 servings (6 pancakes)

Ingredients:
1 banana, ripe
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg
Pinch sea salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp peanut butter
1 tbsp coconut oil
3 tbsp skim milk
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cups whole wheat flour
3 tbsp chocolate chips

Directions:
In the bowl of your mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or using an electric hand mixer), beat together the banana and baking powder until the banana is mushy.

With the mixer speed on medium-low, add the egg, salt, vanilla, almond butter, coconut oil, milk, oats, and whole wheat flour.  Mix until the batter is mostly smooth (you will still have lumps, and this is ok.)

Gently fold in the chocolate chips by hand until incorporated.

Meanwhile, heat a non-stick frying pan over medium heat.  (I sprayed mine lightly with cooking spray.)

About 1/4-cup at a time, gently pour the batter into the hot frying pan and cook the pancakes, flipping after about 2-3 minutes (or until one side is cooked-check yours frequently) and cooking evenly on both sides.  Serve immediately.

—SOURCE—
slightly adapted from The Curvy Carrot, adapted from the Minimalist Baker.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. These look amazing!

    Reply
  2. Ooh I’ve seen this recipe before! I like how healthy you made it! They look really scrumptious. I understand what you’re saying, real friends are rare and hard to come by. It’s important to think of others, but if we completely neglect ourselves we become bitter and resentful. Good that you are putting your own happiness as a priority. 🙂

    Reply
  3. These pancakes look DELICIOUS!!! I want to have some right now!

    Reply
  4. These pancakes will put a smile on your face real soon. I live in Hong Kong and we do not have snow but I have not seen the sun in days due to the haze and I know how it makes you feel. I will give your pancakes a bit of spin and see if it adds a little spring in my step.

    Reply
  5. way to go girl..i too am a fellow “people pleaser”, i know sometime it can be hard, but i’m proud of you standing up for yourself! these pancakes look great…will have to give them a try..lovely post..sarah

    Reply
  6. Awww, girl, rant away. That’s what the blog is for, to be able to talk about your feelings in a vague enough way that you don’t call out the people you’re talking about but are still able to get the thoughts off your chest in a satisfying manner. I think that women are taught from birth to be nurturing, giving, selfless people, to always put others first and to feel guilt when we stand up for ourselves (there’s the sociologist in me talking). I used to always agree to everything, even if I didn’t want to or didn’t have the time, simply because I didn’t want to disappoint the person asking. I’m still guilty of that sometimes but as I get older, I realize more and more how precious my time is. And honestly, your real friends will understand and will stay by your side. And with those special people, you can share these amazing, luscious, decadent pancakes! I can’t wait to try this recipe!

    Reply
  7. These pancakes are so rich in flavor. It can be a meal on its own. Love it!
    We don’t need to please people who don’t deserve our kindness. Just a few real friends to stand by us is all we need. Smile!

    Reply
  1. Sausage and Kale Cassoulet « The Little Spork

Leave a Reply

