Banana Nut Pancakes

IMG_4536You know how certain songs will remind you of a certain someone or memory?  Well these pancakes made me think of a song…obviously one called Banana Pancakes! I feel like I’ve said this a hundred times, but pancakes are perfect for the weekends when you can have a lazy morning making banana pancakes and listening to Jack Johnson. I always love a pancake recipe that doesn’t call for ingredients I would usually have to run out and get (like buttermilk!) so these pancakes were perfect since the only ingredients required are more or less pantry staples. These pancakes were perfectly fluffy and the banana flavour is not overwhelming at all. I hope this weekend you will take the time to have a lazy morning making pancakes and listening to the songs that make you daydream happy things!

Banana Nut Pancakes

Yield: 4 servings (about 16 pancakes)

Ingredients:
1½ cups all-purpose flour
3½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon white sugar
2 ripe bananas
1¼ cups milk
1 egg
4 tablespoons butter, melted
½ cup chopped pecans
Vegetable oil, for pan-frying
Maple syrup, for serving

Directions:
Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a large mixing bowl then set it aside.

In a separate bowl, mash together the bananas with the milk, egg and melted butter.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet, stirring to combine, then stir in the nuts. Allow the batter to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Heat a large sauté pan over medium-low heat and add just enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan, allowing it to heat for 2 to 3 minutes, until the oil is hot enough (the pancake batter should sizzle immediately!)

In batches, scoop about 1/4 cup of batter into the pan to form pancakes. Cook the pancakes on one side until bubbles appear in the center, then flip them once and continue cooking them until they’re no longer doughy in the center. Serve the pancakes with your choice of toppings, including maple syrup, fresh fruit or whipped cream. Enjoy!

—SOURCE—
slightly adapted from Just a Taste, Pancake batter recipe adapted from Good Old Fashioned Pancakes.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. The pancakes looks heavenly and I beg they taste delicious!!!

    Reply
  2. I love banana flavoured anything and I tried a banana pancake recipe a few months ago that was a total fail. The batter was super runny so the pancakes were thin, unsubstantial and so not satisfying. These look perfect – so thick and fluffy! I agree with you – pancakes are the perfect weekend breakfast food. If you ever have a recipe that calls for buttermilk, try making your own by placing lemon juice or vinegar in milk. I can’t bring myself to buy a carton of buttermilk that I can’t possibly finish using so this method is my go-to; it always works for me. I can’t wait to try your recipe!

    Reply
    • I hope/am positive that you will find success with these pancakes!! Thanks so much for the buttermilk tips, I definitely will try it out the next time I need buttermilk. I’m with you on not wanting to buy a whole carton when I just need a cup or so!

      Reply
  3. Haha, as soon as I read the header for your recipe I immediately thought of Jack Johnson! Your pancake stack looks absolutely, positively delicious… I’ve wanted to try a similar recipe for a while but never got around to it. Thanks for sharing, and I love your blog… this is my first visit but you’ve got a new follower 🙂

    Reply
    • wow, thanks so much! haha great minds think alike (and have great taste in music as well :P) I hope you will try these pancakes asap because they are definitely one of my favourites now 🙂

      Reply
  4. Marlene Johnson

     /  September 7, 2014

    Freeze left over buttermilk in an ice tray then store in freezer bags to add to recipes !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

