2-Ingredient Vegan Banana-Oat Cookies

IMG_4237So I guess the title of this post gives away exactly what the 2 ingredients are in these cookies, and if the title didn’t then the picture above definitely does! My sister had originally told me about these magical 2-ingredient cookies months ago but I didn’t believe her, and when I heard what the ingredients were I felt very skeptical. But one day I found myself desperately craving something sweet and baked but did not have the time or energy to whip up a batch of cookies. However I did happen to have a banana and a cup of oats and that was how I was finally introduced to these brilliant cookies. 1 banana, 1 cup of oats. You will have cookies baked and ready to eat in literally 20 minutes from the second you start. These cookies may not be the sweetest, the prettiest, or the most flavourful but they are good enough to satisfy any serious cravings. The bonus (as if only needing 2 ingredients and 20 minutes isn’t enough) is that they are a healthy, vegan alternative to traditional cookies and you can pretty much customize them any way you like!
IMG_4240The first time I made these, I stuck with 1 banana and 1 cup of oats, and added a handful of raisins as well. The raisins added a nice flavour and texture, but I found that while these cookies were amazing fresh from the oven, they dried out quite a bit after a few hours. The next time I made these, I used about 3/4 cup of oats, a handful each of chocolate chips and flax seeds, and 2 dashes of cinnamon and they were out of the world. AND they stayed pretty moist throughout the day. I ended up baking the exact same cookies 5 days in a row, and then I ran out of bananas, so sad. So try these cookies and don’t be afraid to experiment!

2-Ingredient Vegan Banana-Oat Cookies

Yields:  About 6 small cookies

Ingredients:
1 ripe banana
1 cup quick oats (use a bit less if you want your cookies to be more moist)

any additional mix-ins you like, including but not limited to: chocolate chips, raisins, craisins, cinnamon, flax seed, berries, nuts

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and spray with non-stick spray. In a small bowl, break your banana into smaller pieces by hand and add the oats and any additional mix-ins you have chosen. Combine all ingredients together by hand until the batter has reached a uniform consistency. Using your hands, scoop out a small amount of the batter and form into a circle, then place on the baking sheet. Continue until there is no more batter left. The number of cookies you will get depends on how small or large you form them.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, and let cool slightly before devouring. Enjoy!

—SOURCE—
based off of Blogilates

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I like the version with chocolate chips the best 😉

    Reply
  2. Hi there! I found your blog through Brandi’s blog (The Healthy Flavor) and I am LOVING your site. Just looking at the cute blog header makes me happy! And these cookies look dangerously easy. My roommate and I have made banana oat cookies (a slightly more complex recipe) probably 5 times over the past 3 weeks…we will definitely have to give these a try. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
    • Thank you for your sweet comment!! I’m heading over to check out your blog right now 🙂 These cookies are ridiculously easy to put together and so easy to customize, I hope you like them as much as I do!

      Reply
  3. 2 ingredients? That is genius!
    This looks delicious!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  4. I made this last night but didn’t have quick oats, so I used some Raisin and Spice oatmeal packets instead. It was a huge hit. Very healthy.

    Reply
  5. These look so delicious! We’re having a vegan family over for dinner soon and I will definitely use this recipe 🙂

    Reply
  1. Some recipes for pagan cookies | Moon and Shadow

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

