Dry Rub Ribs

IMG_4262If you asked me a year or two ago if I would ever consider being a vegetarian, I would have laughed and said no way! I love meat too much. However just last month I found myself seriously considering adopting a vegetarian lifestyle. I’m still not sure why the idea had popped into my mind, although I think it had to do with reading a few articles and talking to a few vegetarian/vegan friends, and coming to the conclusion that vegetarianism = a healthy lifestyle. Anyways after a few weeks of consideration, I thought, what the heck I can give it a go! I managed about 3 days, and then I saw that ribs were on sale at the local grocery store. Needless to say I haven’t attempted again, although to be honest I think with better meal planning (and a bit more focus) I probably could have gone much longer than just 3 days.  However, I now know that vegetarianism does not necessarily equal a healthy lifestyle. A healthy lifestyle requires well-balanced meals and exercise, amongst other things. So while my New Years resolution (if I were to have one) is not to completely cut meat out of my diet, I think I am going to try to cut back a bit, but still enjoy these tasty dry rub ribs once in a while.

These ribs are so mouthwateringly good and you don’t need a grill to bake these to perfection! The meat just about falls apart off the bones, while the crispy outer dry rub layer adds flavour and crunch. I’ve only ever made these with side ribs as baby back ribs at the local grocer are ridiculously expensive and never seem to go on sale, but I’ve always been very happy with the results!


Dry Rub Ribs

Ingredients:
2 lbs baby back or side ribs
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon dry oregano
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
25 grinds fresh black pepper
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions:
Preheat over to 300 degrees F. Mix the rub ingredients together well in a small bowl.

Remove the membrane from the bone side of the ribs, then rub the vegetable oil onto the ribs. Pour the rub over the ribs and work the rub fully and evenly into the ribs. Spread the ribs out evenly on a foil-lined baking sheet.

Bake until tender and juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside, about 2 to 2 1/2 hours.

—SOURCE—
Tracey’s Culinary Adventures, from Dave Lieberman, FoodNetwork.com

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. These look delish! Too bad I literally just came home from the grocery store. I think ribs might just be appearing on my list for next week though 🙂

    Reply
  2. These ribs look fall off the bone tender. Thanks for stopping by my website so that I could find yours. Take care, BAM

    Reply
  3. Yummm, these ribs look delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

