Hedgehog Shortbread Cookies

IMG_4233One of my friends recently discovered these cute little hedgehog shortbread cookies on Pinterest and instantly emailed me the link…as soon as I saw them I knew I had to try them out. The original link didn’t show any step-by-step pictures, so after a few attempts, this is the method that worked best for me in shaping shortbread into hedgehogs!

After you have mixed your dough, it will be very crumbly and light. Grab a fistful with one hand.
IMG_4180Squeeze your fist to bring all of the shortbread dough crumbs together into something you can mold.

IMG_4181Now that you have a more pliable piece of dough, it’s time to shape it!
IMG_4182Keeping the hand that is holding the dough flat, place your other hand flat over the dough and rough both hands together to form an oval shape. If you find that your dough is crumbling off in small pieces, squeeze it again so it all sticks together, and gently work to reshape it.
IMG_4184I found that it helped to round out the edges a bit by curving my palm into a C-shape as shown below. I also went ahead and pinched the opposite end with my 2 fingers a little bit to form the beginnings of the snout.
IMG_4185Place your hedgehog down onto a sheet of parchment paper, and using your thumb, lightly make an indentation where the snout would be.

IMG_4187(You would do this with both thumbs, I couldn’t show that in the pictures though because I was holding the camera in my other hand 🙂 )
IMG_4188Next, use both thumbs on an angle to shape the snout/nose part.
IMG_4189Once you have baked the hedgehogs and have let them cool, dip/roll each individual hedgehog into melted chocolate, and then crushed walnuts or pecans. I found this to be the trickiest part, as the snouts were so delicate they kept breaking off. Some I was able to salvage by performing surgery (aka sticking the broken pieces back together with a bit of melted chocolate), but be warned that if a piece breaks off, it is hard to put back together!
IMG_4194Now all that’s left is to give each hedgehog a face! I melted a bit of chocolate in a ziploc bag in the microwave, cut the tip off a corner of the bag and used that to paint on the eyes and nose!
IMG_4235How cute are they?! I love how each hedgehog is different, just like us 🙂

Hedgehog Shortbread Cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
Melted Chocolate chips
Crushed walnuts or pecans

Directions:
In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add egg and vanilla; mix well. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture and mix well.

Form cookies (in an oval shape with a pointed end) and place 2″ apart on on ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 375 degrees F for 6-8 minutes or until set but not brown. Cool on wire racks.

Dip 3/4 of cookies in melted chocolate and then in crushed walnuts. Dot two eyes and a nose!

—SOURCE—
Six in the Suburbs

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. These are too cute! My niece loves hedgehogs; I think I’ll have to make these for her birthday in a few months!

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness – these are BEYOND adorable!!

    Reply
  3. Chiaki

     /  December 13, 2012

    How long did it take for you to make these!!
    They are so cute and hope you saved one for me!

    Reply
  4. Eszter Bakos

     /  January 26, 2013

    How I worship the institution of the Holy Internet at times like this! My son will be dressed as a hedgehog in the kindergarten fancy dress party and these are just the cakes to take along! Thank you for the detailed instructions! Eszter (from Hungary)

    Reply
  5. We linked you up to our “Party Animal” party! Come take a look : ) http://toentertain.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  6. 電子アクセサリー

    Reply
  7. Lucinda Pimenta

     /  December 14, 2013

    Thank you so much for the recipe.

    Reply
  8. I eded up with a wetter dough (more like a drop cookie dough) that spread way too much. Any ideas what the issue is? Should I just add more flour?

    Reply
    • Hi Mary! It’s hard to say what went wrong since I wasn’t there during the process. I’m not sure if you tried adding more flour, but I’m not sure if that would have helped. The dough should be light and crumbly almost from the butter. Did you use 1 large egg? If it was an extra-large egg then I could see why the dough would be wetter..sorry I’m not much help!

      Reply
  1. Birthday Party: Party Animal |

Leave a Reply

