Maple-Glazed Carrots

IMG_3949The other day when I went grocery shopping, I stumbled upon a bag of gorgeous carrots, each one a different shade of yellow, orange or red. I’ve never really cooked with carrots apart from using it as the odd ingredient in a soup or stew, yet I instantly picked up the bag and threw it into my cart without a second thought. I wasn’t exactly sure what I was going to do with these carrots, but I knew I wanted to make them into a simple side dish so that the subtle carrot-y flavours could really shine and not be overwhelmed by other ingredients. After a quick search online, I found these maple-glazed carrots and knew this would be perfect. I’m going to be honest here, I was half expecting the different colours to result in slightly different flavours, but I didn’t really notice any difference once these were cooked. These carrots are simmered in a sweet, buttery maple concoction that really compliments the natural flavour of these carrots and makes for a perfect side dish!

Maple-Glazed Carrots

Ingredients:
4 1/2 cups water
4 lbs carrots, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch-thick ovals or circles (about 11 cups)
10 tbsp unsalted butter
3 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp coarse salt
6 tbsp pure maple syrup
3 tbsp dark brown sugar, packed
2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley (optional, to garnish)

Directions:
Combine 4 1/2 cups water, carrots, 4 tablespoons butter, sugar, and coarse salt in heavy large pot. Bring to boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer until carrots are just tender when pierced with knife, about 10 minutes. Drain. (Can be prepared 3 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature.)

Melt remaining 6 tablespoons butter in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add maple syrup and brown sugar and stir until sugar dissolves. Add carrots and cook until heated through, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Transfer carrots to large bowl. Sprinkle with parsley if you’d like and serve.

—SOURCE—
Epicurious

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

