Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

IMG_3849

Sometimes Often the thoughts that race through my mind as if they were on some sort of high-speed conveyor belt are completely random and out of the ordinary and make me question my sanity.

I really think duct tape smells like donuts. Just like dogs smell like donuts. If a bee flies up my pant leg today while I’m walking home and I have to take my pants off right there on the sidewalk flapping my arms and legs around like I’m a chicken trying to fly because the bee is stuck up my leg then I know I can still take comfort in the fact that at least I’m not wearing granny panties. The colour of the car that just drove by my window reminds me of peach cobbler. Poppy seeds sometimes remind me of kiwi seeds the way that they sit there, black and crunchy, embedded in some sort of baked good. Did you know that the only fruit to have seeds on the outside is a strawberry? The Food Network told me that yesterday. It’s almost the weekend, which for many of us means a good sleep-in and potentially a more involved breakfast?    Try these lemon poppy seed pancakes. If you are a fan of lemon poppy seed muffins, then these are the same thing really but in pancake form, making it totally acceptable to cover them with maple syrup and devour in record time. The batter is not overly sweet, and has the perfect lemony flavour. The crisp sides of the pancake are to die for.  I halved the recipe, and then further halved the batter and stuck it in the fridge for almost-instant pancakes the next morning. These are probably my favourite pancakes ever. Ever.

Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes 

Yields: about 24 small pancakes

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 tablespoons fresh lemon zest
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups buttermilk
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 tablespoons poppy seeds
butter, shortening, or vegetable oil for frying
maple syrup for serving

Directions:
In a small bowl combine granulated sugar and lemon zest.  Rub together with your fingers until sugar is fragrant.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Stir in the lemon sugar.  Set aside.

In a separate bowl (or you can use a large liquid measuring cup), whisk together buttermilk, eggs, vanilla extract, lemon juice, and melted butter.  Pour the wet ingredients all at once into the dry ingredients.  Add the poppy seeds and stir to combine.  If a few lumps remain, that’s no problem.  Let the batter rest for 10 minutes while the griddle heats.

Place a griddle, or a nonstick saute pan over medium heat.  Add a bit of butter, shortening, or vegetable oil to the pan.  A teaspoon of fat will do for a n0nstick saute pan, a bit more fat may be necessary for a griddle.  Dollop batter onto hot pan.  For small pancakes, I use about 2 tablespoons for each pancake.  For larger pancakes, I use about 1/4 cup of batter.  Cook until golden brown on the bottom and and bubbling on top.  Flip once and cook until golden brown on each side.

Place cooked pancakes on an oven-proof plate and place in a warm (about 150 degrees F) oven until all pancakes are cooked and ready to serve.  Serve with butter and warm maple syrup.

—SOURCE—
Joy the Baker

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Looks really yummy ~ arghhh~ i am now really hungry~~~~

    Reply
  1. Double Chocolate Pancakes « The Little Spork

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

