Creamy Avocado Pasta

img_0231

Fun fact: I hate leftovers.

Actually, not really a fun fact seeing as it only complicates my life when it comes to preparing my meals. I absolutely love when a meal has just been cooked. I feel like it tastes so much better when it’s fresh out of the oven or out of the pan. So when I see that same meal in a container in the fridge, completely chilled, I’m just not as enthusiastic about eating it. As a student preparing all of my meals on my own while away at school, I’m faced with two options: I can take the time every night to prepare a fresh-cooked meal for dinner, or I can save time (and usually money!) by preparing several servings of the same recipe and having leftovers for a few days.  More often than not, the idea of saving time and money wins out, and I’m stuck with my leftovers for now…

Anyways, the point of that story was to let you know how thrilled I was to have found this recipe, for a creamy avocado pasta that can be made in 15 minutes AND cannot be used for leftovers (due to the fact that the avocado sauce should not be re-heated). Although I guess you could eat the pasta cold. I never really thought of myself as a picky eater, but I’m cringing at the thought of cold pasta (that’s not pasta salad).

img_0233

This meal is very simply and easy to make, and does not require a lot of time or ingredients, making it perfect for people like me who dislike leftovers, or even for those nights when you feel like there is absolute nothing in the fridge that you can make a meal out of. All you really need is an avocado, clove of garlic and a bit of lemon. If you’re making this meal for one, half the recipe below!

Creamy Avocado Pasta 

Yield: serves 2

Ingredients:
1 medium sized ripe avocado, pitted
½ lemon, juiced + lemon zest to garnish (zest optional)
1-2 cloves garlic, to taste
½ tsp kosher salt, or to taste
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
6 oz pasta

Directions:
Bring several cups of water to a boil in a medium sized pot. Cook pasta until al dente (see package for instructions).

Place the garlic clove(s), lemon juice and olive oil into a food processor, and process until smooth. Add in the avocado and salt. Process until smooth and creamy. Alternatively, if you do not have a food processor, mince the garlic cloves finely and mix well with lemon juice and olive oil. Mash the avocado in with a fork or potato masher and add in, along with salt. Mix well to combine.

When pasta is done cooking, drain and rinse in a strainer and place pasta into a large bowl. Pour on avocado sauce and toss until fully combined. Serve immediately.

**Please note that this dish does not reheat well due to the avocado in the sauce, so serve immediately.

—SOURCE—
Adapted from Oh She Glows

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

