Snowflake and Christmas-themed Sugar Cookies

{**UPDATE: check out this post for a detailed tutorial on how to make these snowflake cookies!}

You are beautiful. Each and every one of you.
Please don’t ever change!
I mean it.

Men can be beautiful too. In a totally manly way.
Trust me, I’ve seen my fair share 😉

Somebody asked me recently, whether or not I still believed in a love that lasts.
You know, the soulmate kind that you see in romantic comedies, where two people end up together after overcoming several obstacles and live happily ever after.
I told them, yes, I still do. Because you don’t have to look very far to see that kind of love.

I don’t know if I believe that every person in this world will find that kind of love in their lifetime. I don’t know why that is either. Why doesn’t everyone have a happily ever after?   Why do some people think they’ve found their happily-ever-after only to see it fall apart several years later?

Regardless, I’m happy to know that right now, in this moment, I am loved, by my family. And that’s what the holidays are about, right? Spending time with family, the people who will truly love you no matter what.

If you still have some time for some last-minute holiday Christmas baking, try making these snowflake and mitten sugar cookies. I used the same recipe for the cookies and the frosting, as I did for these Basketball Sugar Cookies. The idea and designs for these cookies came from Annie of Annie’s Eats.

I used edible cake sparkles for the mitten cookies, and sugar pearls on the snowflakes. I used “Rose” and “Royal Blue” Wilton gel icing colours (I just used less gel icing to achieve the paler pink colour on the snowflake cookies as opposed to the brighter pink seen on the mitten cookies). I used a #3 tip to outline the cookies, and a #2 tip to do the detailing.

If you’re looking for more inspiration on Christmas-themed sugar cookies, check out these Christmas tree, angel, and star cookies I made last year (but never posted).

Again, I used Wilton gel icing colours for these cookies. I just remembered, I had a blue gel icing colour and a yellow, and I tried so hard to make a Christmas tree green colour out of the two, and failed miserably. If I recall correctly, the closest to green I ended up with was aquamarine…. a friend told me that apparently I was using the wrong ratio of blue to yellow in my attempt to make green. Moral of the story is, if you’re not a painter or artist, it’s much faster to just go out and buy the green gel icing 😛

Well, that’s it from me! Have a Merry Christmas (to those of you that celebrate it) and make sure to spend lots of time with family and loved ones 🙂

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Those look wonderful and it’s good to see you again!

    Reply
  2. they look awesome!

    Reply
  1. Snowflake Sugar Cookies revisited, and an updated Royal Icing Tutorial « The Little Spork

Leave a Reply

