Pumpkin Spice Truffles

If I could be granted 3 wishes, this is what I would wish for:

1.) A bottle of pure happiness that I could give to anybody in the world. It would make all of their life, health, money, etc. problems go away.

2.) To be able to sprint like an Olympic athlete while wearing 4 inch heels the way Amanda Seyfried does in the movie In Time.

3.) To be able to listen to Christmas music non-stop starting from now all the way until Christmas without getting sick of it.

Unfortunately, I probably won’t get any of these wishes come true. That’s okay though, I’ll just tell you about these truffles 🙂

I’ve never made truffles before, but I wanted to make something spectacular and pumpkin-themed for a few special people. I figured go big, or go home right?

Well, let’s just say that several things did not go my way during the truffle-making procedure, and I was so close to ripping out my hair and completely losing it several times.

The first mistake I made was adding way too much pumpkin puree to the truffle base. I used the exact amount of ingredients listed in the below recipe, but when I test-tasted the result, I found that it tasted too much like white chocolate and barely like pumpkin. So I figured, why not add more puree right?  Well I ended up achieving the flavour I desired about 2/3 cup of pumpkin later, but what I didn’t realize at the time was that the white chocolate acts as a binder to the rest of the ingredients. So when I increased the pumpkin by a significant amount, the overall truffle wouldn’t freeze completely and therefore made it extremely difficult to coat smoothly.

The second mistake I made was melting all of the white chocolate I had (to dip the truffles in) at once. Once my truffles started to disintegrate when they touched the hot chocolate, the once smooth melted white chocolate became very clumpy.  At this point I didn’t have any white chocolate left and was freaking out. And then I decided to melt some dark chocolate to coat the remaining truffles, and all was well in the world.

My resulting truffles weren’t as beautiful or smooth and satiny as I had imagined. Instead they were clumpy and rather misshapen, but overall it was a good learning experience. They still tasted quite delicious, and I actually liked the dark chocolate coated ones just as much as the white chocolate ones.  If you do make these I hope you have better luck than I did and if you have made truffles before I would appreciate any tips you may have 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Truffles

Yield: about 30 truffles
Ingredients:
1 cup white chocolate, coarsely chopped (about 5 oz)
½ cup pumpkin puree
Âľ cup finely ground gingersnaps
Âľ cup graham cracker crumbs
2 tbsp. confectioners’ sugar
ÂĽ tsp. ground cinnamon
Pinch of orange zest
4 oz. cream cheese, softened

For dipping:
about 16 oz. chopped white chocolate, melted (or chopped dark chocolate)

For garnish:
Additional gingersnap crumbs

Directions:
To make the truffle filling, melt the white chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over simmering water just until smooth.  Set aside to cool slightly.  Add the pumpkin, gingersnap and graham cracker crumbs, confectioners’ sugar, cinnamon, orange zest and cream cheese.  Mix well until completely blended and smooth.  Transfer the mixture to the refrigerator or freezer until it has thickened up enough to scoop and roll into balls (about 1 hour).

Scoop the filling mixture and roll into balls, about 1 inch in diameter.  Transfer to a parchment- or foil-lined baking sheet.  Transfer the baking sheet to the freezer and let chill until firm, about 2 hours.

When you are ready to dip the truffles, melt the white chocolate or candy melts for coating in a heatproof bowl set over simmering water.  Once completely melted and smooth, carefully dip one of the balls of filling into the chocolate.  Turn quickly to coat and balance on the tines of a fork to shake off the excess.  Transfer to a lined baking sheet and sprinkle with additional gingersnap crumbs, if desired.  Repeat with the remaining filling balls.  Transfer the baking sheet to the refrigerator and chill until the coating is set.

Source: from Annie’s Eats, adapted from Whole Foods

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. These look great to me and I be the next batch will be perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

