Green Detox Smoothie

The weather has finally been getting consistently warmer here in Toronto, and what better way to soak up the sun then a freshly blended smoothie? I’ve always been a fan of the classic strawberry-banana smoothies, but I’ve been seeing several versions of these green smoothies popping up everywhere on blogs.

Don’t be scared by the colour of this smoothie. Yes, it is green because it is packed with spinach (other variations I’ve seen use kale instead of spinach) but I promise you that you can’t even taste the spinach. This version has a lovely banana (but not overwhelming banana) flavour and is easily one of the healthiest smoothies you’ll every try. I am looking forward to trying out different variations of this smoothie πŸ™‚

Green Detox Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 (6-8 oz.) yogurt (preferably one with 100 calories or less)
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 cup fresh or frozen spinach
1/2 banana
2 handfuls ice
1 Tbsp. lemon or lime juice

Directions:

*Mix all the above ingredients together in a blender until smooth. Top with grated lemon peel, if desired.

Source: Espresso and Cream

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I have been seeing these green detox drinks popping up everywhere but I have not been tempted yet to try any. Your recipe might do it for me because the ingredients are more “friendly” πŸ™‚ I certainly like bananas and spinach! This looks like a great recipe to get started drinking green!

    Reply
  2. Um, I don’t know what to say Liana. I can’t really say yum. I am not so much a drink your veggies kind of girl, but if you say it’s good I believe you because you seem like a nice honest girl. I am going to have to make the croissants first and then maybe I’ll think about this detox drink. Take care! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Glad it’s getting warmer up there. We’re holding out, but will have to turn on the AC soon!

    Reply
  4. I have to agree with Geni…drinking veggies is not appealing to me, BUT that doesn’t make this a bad recipe! The croissants…the bad for me stuff…now thats appealing…LOL…so how hot does it get in the summer in Toronto?

    Reply
    • haha don’t worry, I knew this smoothie wouldn’t be the most popular recipe πŸ˜› Summers can get hot here, I think the hottest that I can remember is probably around 30 degrees Celsius (I think that’s about 86 F). I’m not sure if that’s nothing compared to what you might be getting if you live further south though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

