Buttermilk Pancakes

Hello! To each and every one of you beautiful mothers out there, Happy onedaylate Mother’s Day! I hope it was fabulous and relaxing. A special shout-out to my amazing mommy dearest. I’d like to say that I made her breakfast in bed, but I didn’t. She has a habit of waking up at 4:00am, whereas my internal alarm clock refuses to start until at least 9:00am. So yesterday, on Mother’s Day, my mom was supposed to sleep in while I had my alarm set for 6:30am to get breakfast ready. Let’s just say my mom woke up at 4:00am regardless, and I hit snooze about 10 times until I finally woke up at 8:00am.

I still made her these lovely buttermilk pancakes and that was how our day started 🙂 If you’re in a hurry and just want to check out the recipe, skip to the bottom of this post. If not, just a warning that I’m going to be rambling a little more than usual today.

My mom is kind of funny. Sometimes she’ll be driving and I’ll be in the passenger seat, and she’ll see something and get really excited. Then she’ll make me pull out a camera (either mine or hers, depending who has one at the time) and snap a picture of whatever it is. This past weekend, we were driving around in Toronto and the CN tower came into view. Naturally she got very excited, and despite the fact that the car was going at about 100 km/hour on the highway, she insisted I take a picture, so I did and this is what it looked like:

Actually I had to take several pictures before she was satisfied, but it was very amusing!

Last Wednesday, my dear friend Geni from Sweet and Crumby awarded me with this:

Thank you, Geni 🙂 There are rules that come with this award and they are the following:

1.       Link back to the person who gave you the award.

2.       Write seven random facts about yourself.

3.       Spread the love to 15 other blogs that you think deserve the award and contact them to let them know you gave them the award!

Here goes 7 random facts:

1.) I was born in a small city in southern Japan, and all of my family on my mom’s side lives in various cities in Japan.

2.) The picture of me in my “About Me” section is slightly outdated, as I recently raised money for the Make-A-Wish Foundation to cut off 10 inches of my hair. I was able to raise over $500 and my hair was donated to Angel Hair for Kids.

3.) I really love dogs. We adopted a dog named Walter about 8 years ago, when he was 6 years old. Walter had been abused by his previous owners, and it took him a while for him to trust us. I loved him very much, but we had to put him down a year ago after he became blind and very weak. I know this sounds really corny but I really feel like Walter changed me for the better.

Wayback playback. This was me with Walter when I was in grade 9. I’ll let you guess how many years ago that was 😛

4.) I’m scared of bugs. Any kind of insect with more than 4 legs and/or wings. I’m shuddering just thinking about spiders.

5.) I have traveled halfway around the world, but I have never crossed the border (yet!!). Into the United States that is.

6.) I’m a hopeless romantic. I love chick flicks and novels with happy endings. I’m all about happy endings.

7.) When I was little I wanted to be a famous singer. And then I realized I couldn’t sing. Oh well, at least I have baking!

Okay, there’s no way I’ll be able to link to 15 other blogs (I’m supposed to be getting ready to go out right now..) but here are a few of my favourites:

1.) Annie’s Eats – I check this blog obsessively. Enough said.

2.) Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide – plenty of beautiful and colourful pictures (with recipes of course!). Rufus also appears to be quite the bartender and isn’t afraid to share his tips!

3.) Joy the Baker – Another obsession. Joy creates posts that are funny to read, heart-warming, and makes you want to run out to your kitchen and try out any recipe she posts.

4.) Savoring Every Bite – Linda’s blog consists of a wide variety of dishes and desserts. I don’t know why, but her posts always leave me smiling. It’s a good thing!

5.) Espresso and Cream – Beautiful Maddie takes beautiful pictures of beautiful food.

Wow okay. I think I’ve talked enough. I’ll tell you quickly about this pancakes. They were buttery and delightfully fluffy but I think next time I will use less salt. Maybe 1/2 tsp salt. My mom loved them though (although aren’t moms supposed to love everything their kids make? :P)

Buttermilk Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 cup all-purpose flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
4 teaspoons light brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Whisk together milk, eggs and vegetable oil in a medium bowl, then whisk in the butter.

Stir together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in another medium bowl. Whisk in egg mixture until combined. Spray a griddle or skillet with nonstick vegetable spray. Working in batches of 3 (or 6 if your griddle will allow) pour 1/3-cup measures of batter onto skillet and cool until bubbles have formed on the top and sides of the pancakes and broken, about 2 minutes. Flip pancakes with a spatula and cook until undersides are golden, about 1 minute more. Lower heat if pancakes brown too quickly. Serve with maple syrup or molasses.

Source: Joy the Baker

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Pancakes and an award. My night can’t get any better!

    Reply
  2. Your pancakes looks great. One of these days you’ll have to travel across the border to the U.S!

    Reply
  3. Lianna! What a sweet surprise! Thanks for your kind comments! I have a special bond to your blog as you are close to my daughter’s age and I truly admire your cooking and blog writing! Your mother’s day pancakes look soo good! I would have loved to have woken up to those….and I defintely sleep in! It was nice to learn more about you too!

    Reply
  4. These pancakes look so fluffy and perfect. I adore your blog and love learning more about you. Glad you are a dog lover too. Doggies are the best. Mine is definitely part of our family. I didn’t have the attention span to link 15 blogs either. I just couldn’t do it. It was taking me forever and I had several more I would have love to list. Like Linda’s! So glad you awarded her with it because I kept slapping my hand against my head once I posted it thinking I wish I had added her blog!

    Reply
  1. Crimson cosmos all around | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

