Pistachio Pudding

I’ve been home from university for summer break for a week and a half, and this pudding is the only thing I’ve made so far. I’m finding it incredibly difficult to even want to bake something when my mom is constantly overwhelming me with her amazing home-cooked meals and snacks and pretty much spoiling me like crazy. There’s also something about using a kitchen that’s not “mine” if that makes any sense.

I mean, yes I’m home, but after making use of a tiny kitchen shared with 3 housemates away at university for 8 months, it’s hard to even try working in different kitchen. My mom has all of her things organized where she likes it, and I’m unfamiliar with where things are, what kinds of pots, pans, dishes, etc. she has and what’s in the fridge.

But I did manage to try out this recipe for pistachio pudding. I love pistachios and I’ve made chocolate pudding before so I figured this would be a breeze. It was very easy to make, and I got a chance to use my food processor. My only complaint was that the end result was very sweet, maybe a little too sweet. I think the amount of sugar overwhelmed the pistachio flavour. Overall this was very lovely, and I will try it again soon with less sugar.

Pistachio Pudding

Ingredients:

For the Pistachio Paste:
1/2 cup salted pistachio nuts
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons water

For the pudding:
2 cups whole milk
2 large egg yolks
1/4 – 1/3 cup granulated sugar (depending on how sweet you want it!)
2 tablespoons cornstarch
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup pistachio nuts, chopped

Directions:

To make the Pistachio Paste:  place pistachios in the bowl of a food processor.  Pulse until the nuts are in small bits.  Add the sugar and water, and blend until relatively smooth.  Easy!

To make the Pudding:  Spoon Pistachio Paste into a medium saucepan.  Add the milk and whisk over medium heat.  Heat milk and pistachio until steamy and hot.

While milk is heating, whisk together granulated sugar, egg yolks, cornstarch and pinch of salt.  Mixture will be thick.  Keep whisking until it’s smooth.  Pour about 1/2 cup of the steaming pistachio milk into the sugar and egg mixture.  Whisk together.  Add another half cup of hot milk and whisk to incorporate.  Return the milky egg mixture into the saucepan over medium heat.

Heat pudding mixture over medium heat until thick and bubbly.  Whisk almost constantly.  You might also want to use a heat-proof spatula to stir the mixture, ensuring that the sides and corners of the pan aren’t burning. Boil for about 1 minute, or until thickened.  Remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla extract, until butter is melted.  Pass cooked pudding through a fine mesh strainer set over a medium bowl.  This will ensure that any cooked egg bits don’t make it into the finished pudding.  Press the pudding through the strainer.  Add a few of the pistachio nut bits that the strainer catches, back to the pudding if you’d like

Spoon into small ramekins, place plastic wrap over the individual puddings (so the plastic touches the top of the pudding), and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, or overnight.

Top with lightly sweetened whipped cream and chipped pistachios.

Pudding will last, covered in the refrigerator, for up to 4 days.

Source: slightly adapted from Joy the  Baker, adapted from cooks.com

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. That sounds great. Would you reduce the sugar in the pudding or the paste or both? Did you use the 1/3 in the pudding?

    Reply
    • That’s a good point. I used 1/3 cup sugar in both the paste and pudding. The original recipe called for 1/2 cup sugar in the pudding so I figured that I could try scaling it down to 1/4 cup and keep the 1/3 in the paste. If I recall correctly, the paste wasn’t overwhelmingly sweet either. I hope that makes sense!

      Reply
  2. Lianna, This looks lovely and I’m a huge fan of pistachios! Your comments on being in your mom’s kitchen are so similar to my relationship with my daughter! I know she cooks well, but when she’s at home she hesitates and steps back. After reading this I AM going to step back and allow her to feel comfortable to cook in my kitchen!

    Reply
  3. What a pretty pudding. Sharing a kitchen is always tough!

    Reply
  4. Oh goodness, Lianna. This looks delectable…eat every spoonful good. Thanks for the tip on the sugar. I do think the pistachio should be the shining star. You will get used to cooking in her kitchen. In a couple of weeks, you’ll know where everything is and then you can spoil her with your amazing food and treats. Obviously, you must get your love of cooking for her. Are you preparing a Mother’s Day meal?

    Reply
    • Thank you, Geni 🙂 I will hopefully be preparing a meal this Sunday and if it turns out well I’ll be sharing it on here 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

