Stuffed Italian Burgers

Burned once, shame on you.
Burned twice, shame on me.

I haven’t really been myself lately. I’m happy you can’t see me right now.

I made burgers. These ones, to be specific. I let my housemate have a bite, and the following week I made another batch with my housemate. They’re that good. Just a warning, be careful when you bite into one of these. The melted cheese can get really hot and can burn you if you’re not careful! Oh. And don’t burn these 🙂

Stuffed Italian Burgers
Yield: 3 burgers

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground sirloin
2 tbsp. yellow onion, finely chopped
1 tsp. garlic, minced
1 tsp. salt
½ tsp. Italian seasoning
ÂĽ tsp. black pepper
1-2 dashes of balsamic vinegar
Sliced fresh mozzarella
Fresh basil leaves

Directions: 
To make the patties, combine the ground sirloin, onion, garlic, salt, Italian seasoning, pepper and balsamic vinegar in a large bowl.  Mix well to thoroughly combine.  Divide the mixture into three equal portions; divide each of these further into halves so that you have 6 equal portions of the meat mixture.   Form each portion into a thin, round patty.  Place a slice of fresh mozzarella and a few basil leaves on top of three of the patties.  Lay the remaining patties on top of these, sandwiching the mozzarella in the center.  Pinch the edges of the patties together to form one large patty with the cheese in the center.

Cook the burgers on a preheated grill until cooked to your desired doneness and until the cheese inside has melted.  Serve with your desired condiments.

Source: Annie’s Eats, loosely based on Michael Proietti’s Mulberry Street Burger

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Those look wonderful. My wife and I were watching a show on Create TV the other week where the guy stuffed venison sausage burgers with foie gras, I kid you not! Since we have none of those ingredients, we’ll gladly substitute your lovely version.

    Reply
  2. You are killing me! These sound so crazy delicious! Hope you are feeling better.

    Reply
  3. Yummy! I love making stuffed burgers and these sound great! At first, I assumed you were talking about burning the food and then I realized you were talking about burning your mouth because you couldn’t wait to eat…LOL Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. Just in time for the grilling season! As I like to have my burger w/o the bun, your stuffed burger will be a flavorful explosion…and so Italian-like! I like the idea of using full basil leaves vs. chopped.

    Reply
  5. thesavvystudent

     /  May 6, 2011

    These sounds absolutely wonderful…I was thinking about making homemade burgers for the fam next week. I now know what recipe I’ll be using 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

