Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

So I’m a little bummed out that I wasn’t able to make or post anything Easter-themed at all. I’ve had my final exams for university for the past two weeks, and I just finished my last exam this past Saturday at 9:00pm. Right in the middle of Easter weekend. I came home to Toronto yesterday (Easter Sunday) at around noon, and I had originally planned to make Easter themed sugar cookies with royal icing (similar to these basketball cookies), but the minute our car pulled up in my front driveway, I knew that wasn’t going to happen. Instead I spent most of the afternoon and the night unpacking and trying to clean my room, which was a MESS.

Now here I am, feeling sad about not sharing any Easter treats with you. I guess there is always next year!

In the meantime, I will tell you about this slow cooker pulled pork. I’ve always seen recipes for pulled pork on many blogs, but I’ve always been too scared to make it. It seems so simple that I felt like I would probably mess up somewhere. I’m glad I finally tried this recipe out, because it is actually so unbelievably easy to make. All you coat the pork with a spice rub, saran wrap and refrigerate it for a few hours, and then stick it in the slow cooker with a bit of water and let the slow cooker work it’s magic.  The result is a tender hunk of meat that shreds really easily, and tastes delicious in wraps, sandwiches, as a pizza topping, etc. If you don’t already have a favourite pulled pork recipe, I strongly recommend this one!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1-2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon dried oregano
4 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons table salt
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 (6-8 pound) bone-in pork shoulder
1 cup barbecue sauce (plus extra for serving, if desired)

Directions:
To make the spice rub: Combine all of the ingredients except the pork and the barbecue sauce in a bowl.  Massage this spice rub onto the pork, coating each side thoroughly.  Wrap the pork tightly with two layers of plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours (or up to 3 days).

Unwrap the roast and place it in your slow cooker.  Add 1/4 cup of water then turn the slow cooker to low and cook for 8-10 hours, or until the meat is fork-tender.

Transfer the pork to a cutting board and discard the liquid in the slow cooker.  Shred the meat using two forks to pull it apart.  Discard any fat.  Place the shredded meat back in the slow cooker and add 1 cup of barbecue sauce, tossing to combine.  Heat on low for 30-60 minutes, or until hot.  Serve the pork with additional barbecue sauce, if desired.

Source: Tracey’s Culinary Adventures, adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That’s a great looking rub. Hope the exams went well!

    Reply
  2. Lianna, This looks great! I’ve always done my pulled pork in the oven…for hours! I will definitely have to try your recipe in my slow cooker and let it “do its magic” !!

    Reply
  3. I have pork slow cookin’ away right now in my crock pot! I have never tried to put on a rub and then refrigerate it first. I love this idea so thank you for sharing. My secret is to take a red onion and first cut it in fourths. Use the four pieces of onion as a “rack” at the bottom of your crock pot and then place the pork on top of it. You end up with beautiful “carmelized” onions to serve on top of your sandwich and the onion flavors the liquid a bit as well. This recipe looks excellent…can’t wait to try. BTW…will you email me when you receive your gift pack? I want to make sure you get it. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

