Cappuccino Cookies with Espresso and White Chocolate

I think that easily one of the best feelings in the world is being complimented unexpectedly, especially from a friend or acquaintance that you may not keep in touch with often, or even better yet, a complete stranger.

Today, I received a compliment about my baking abilities from a girl who was an old high school friend that I’ve seen maybe once or twice a year since we graduated high school. It took me by surprise, but it was so sweet and thoughtful of her.

I’m not saying this happens often to me, but when it does it really makes my self-confidence soar. Just the fact that somebody you don’t really know and who doesn’t know you that well is willing to go out of their way to pay you a compliment really makes you feel so good about yourself!

Anyways, I baked these cookies with a friend yesterday and they turned out really nicely. Actually they were pretty amazing, I was just trying to be modest 😛  I wimped out of incorporating the full 3 tablespoons of espresso powder into the cookie dough, and instead went with about 1.75 tablespoons 😛 I did this because I’m not a huge coffee/espresso fan so I was worried that the espresso flavour would be overpowering if I went with the full 3 tablespoons. Once the cookies were baked and cooled and I tasted one, I thought the espresso flavour was perfect. I could taste it but it wasn’t an overwhelming flavour. My friend on the other hand thought that the cookies could have used a little bit more of an espresso kick. I guess it depends on your preference how much you decided to add!

Cappuccino Cookies with Espresso and White Chocolate

Yields: about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. instant espresso or coffee powder
1 cup white chocolate chunks

Directions:

Place racks in the center and upper third of the oven and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside and we’ll preheat the oven after we chill the dough.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and instant espresso powder.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment, beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 to 5 minutes.  Stop the mixer and scrape down the butter mixture with a spatula.  Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla extract and beat on medium speed until mixture is fluffy, about 1 to 2 minutes.  Stop the mixer and add the dry ingredients, all at once to the butter mixture.  Beat on low speed until just combined.  Stop the mixer, add the chocolate chunks and fold together with a  spatula until well combined.  Cover the dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 45 minutes.

Just before you’re ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Scoop cookie dough by the heaping tablespoonful onto the prepared baking pans.  Bake for about 12 minutes, until lightly browned around the edges.  Remove from the oven, allow to cool on the baking sheet for about 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.  Cookies will last several days when stored in an airtight container.

Source: Joy the Baker

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

