Stewed Strawberries

I love funnel cakes. You know, the deep fried golden batter served with all sorts of toppings at carnivals and theme parks. To me, the best funnel cake is one served with soft serve ice cream, icing sugar, and strawberry syrup with whole strawberries. Yum!

These stewed strawberries kind of remind me of the strawberry syrup I get on my funnel cakes, but probably slightly healthier. I had mine with plain yogurt, but it would be just as tasty with vanilla ice cream. I’ve made this recipe twice already, once using frozen strawberries and once using fresh strawberries. For some reason it tasted a lot better using frozen strawberries, although I’m not sure why. I might not have cooked the fresh strawberries long enough the second time around, because they had a tougher consistency.

The strawberries can be substituted for mixed berries (the original recipe called for raspberries and blueberries) which I’m sure would be just as delicious as well!

Stewed Strawberries

Ingredients:
1 pint strawberries (or any mixed berries)
1 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup water

Directions:
Combine the strawberries, sugar and water in a saucepan over medium heat and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and cook uncovered over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, for 10 to 12 minutes. The juice will become a syrup and the berries will be slightly cooked.

Serve over yogurt or ice cream, as desired.

Source: Adapted from the Barefoot Contessa Family Style cookbook by Ina Garten

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Funnel cake is a secret love of mine and you are right, the toppings are the best part. These stewed strawberries look yummy.

    Reply
  2. Kia

     /  July 22, 2012

    This stewed strawberry recipe is GREAT!!!! I made it and used it as a topping for pound cake and vanilla ice cream!!!

    Reply
  3. That looks delicious! I love strawberries!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

