Argentine Empanadas

Do you like meat pies?

I do. I love pies in general. I love strawberry rhubarb pie, key lime pie, apple pie, pumpkin pie, blueberry pie, you name it.

But then there are the more savoury meat pies, that I absolutely adore. I’ve always loved chicken pot pies (hopefully I can summon up the courage to make one from scratch this summer!), and I love beef pot pies as well.

A lot of people like sweet, dessert-type pies, but not as many people enjoy meat pies. I was surprised when I found out that a few of my friends weren’t a fan of savoury pies, and I was a little bit sad as well. I feel like they’re missing out on so much 😦

These Argentine Empanadas are kind of like little meat pies to me.  I had never heard of them before until I found this recipe while browsing through recipes on Jen’s blog. I’m going to go ahead and warn you now that I took a lot of pictures (maybe too many!) throughout the cooking process. I think I got a little bit excited…

Melting butter with water for the dough.

Making a well in the center of the flour mixture!

The dough is slowly starting to come together..

Easy, buttery dough ready to be refrigerated.

Delicious beef filling. I kept taking spoonfuls from this bowl…I won’t tell anyone if you do the same 😉

Individual portions of dough ready to be rolled out.

Rolling the dough out.

Adding the filling..

And there you have it! An Argentine Empanada ready to be baked. If you are planning are serving these to other people, then you can seal/pinch the edges more neatly than I do. An easy way of making the end result look a little bit cleaner would be the seal the edges, and using the tines of the fork, press a neat pattern around the edges.

 

Argentine Empanadas

Ingredients:

For the dough:
1 cup water
3/4 butter
2 3/4 cups flour
2 tsp salt
pinch paprika

For the filling:
3 tbsp olive oil
1 small yellow onion, peeled and minced
1/2 small red bell pepper, cored, seeded, and finely diced
1/2 chicken or beef bouillon cube
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp ground white pepper
1/2 tsp ground cumin
3/4 lb. boneless beef shoulder, finely diced (I used ground beef)
salt
1 small russet potato, peeled, finely diced, and boiled (I used 2 yukon golds)
1/3 cup raisins (I omitted)
8 green Spanish olives, pitted and chopped
3 scallions, trimmed and chopped
1 hard-boiled egg, peeled and chopped

For the dough: heat water and butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat until butter has melted. Mix flour and salt in a large mixing bowl and make a well in the center and sprinkle a pinch of paprika in the well. Pour a little of the warm liquid in and stir with fingertips to make a wet paste. Pour in remaining liquid and work the flour into the dough with your hand until you get a wet, oily dough. Wrap the dough in plastic and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

For the filling: Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat and cook the onions, bell peppers, bouillon, paprika, red pepper flakes, white pepper, and cumin, and cook until onions are soft. Add beef, season to taste with salt, and cook until beef is browned. Place filling in a large bowl and when cooled, add potatoes, raisins (omitted), olives, scallions, and egg. Mix.

Preheat oven to 400F. Tear off pieces of dough to roll about 12 (24) golf-sized balls. Using a rolling pin, roll out dough balls on lightly floured surface into 5″ circles. Place 3 tbsp of filling in the center of each dough circle. Fold over and press edges firmly to seal. Rope pinch the edges tightly. Place empanadas on cookie sheet and bake until golden brown, 15-20 minutes.

Source: Use Real Butter

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I absolutely adore empanadas and yours look so amazing. You always impress me Liana. I can’t believe how many things you are willing to try to cook and how beautiful they always turn out. I work 1/2 a block from a locally famous Cuban bakery. They make melt-in-your-mouth chicken empanadas and I gained 10 lbs the first year they moved in. Your beef ones look like they could give my neighbor bakery ones a run for their money. Truly can’t wait to try this recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

