Ginger Pork Egg Rolls

I’m not sure why, but I really had the urge to make egg rolls recently. I have never made them from scratch before, but I definitely wanted to try.

The recipe for this is titled “Best Egg Rolls”. Now I’m not sure if I would say they are the best, but they definitely are very tasty! It was exciting trying these out on my own.

I would recommend putting in more of the filling than the picture above, if possible, because the wrapper puffs up quite a bit when deep-fried, so in the end my egg rolls seemed like they could have had more filling.

The original recipe also called for a flour paste that was equal parts flour and water to help seal the egg roll, but I found that this mixture was really clumpy and to be honest, really unappealing and not very efficient at sealing the roll. Maybe it was just me, but I ended up using plain water after a few failed attempts with the flour mixture, and it worked just fine.

If you’ve never made egg rolls before, something you should probably know is that they deep fry very quickly. I didn’t know this, so I was multi-tasking by folding one egg roll while deep frying another, and it was a little bit difficult because as soon as I turned my back from the stove, the egg roll would have completely fried brown.

I’ve left the recipe as it is, including the flour mixture part just in case you are more successful than I was!

Ginger Pork Egg Rolls

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground pork
1 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 quart peanut oil for frying (I used vegetable oil, enough to fill a small pot 1 inch high)
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
2 tbsp water
2 cups shredded cabbage
2 oz. shredded carrots
8 (7 inch square) egg roll wrappers (I ended up using probably about 16-20 egg roll wrappers, but I don’t think I put enough filling)
2 tbsp sesame seeds (optional)

Directions:

Season pork with ginger and garlic powder and mix thoroughly. Heat mixture in a medium skillet, stirring, until pork is cooked through and no longer pink. Set aside.

In another large skillet heat oil to about 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) or medium high heat. While oil is heating, combine flour and water in a bowl until they form a paste. In a separate bowl combine the cabbage, carrots and reserved pork mixture. Mix all together.

Lay out one egg roll skin with a corner pointed toward you. Place about a 1/4 to 1/3 cup of the cabbage, carrot and pork mixture on egg roll paper and fold corner up over the mixture. Fold left and right corners toward the center and continue to roll. Brush a bit of the flour paste on the final corner to help seal the egg roll.

Place egg rolls into heated oil and fry, turning occasionally, until golden brown. Remove from oil and drain on paper towels or rack. Put on serving plate and top with sesame seeds if desired.

Source: allrecipes.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

