(Cheater) Chinese Steamed Fish

Sometimes I have the most random cravings. The kind where I desperately crave something I normally never eat/don’t like/doesn’t appeal to me whatsoever.

This meal was a result of one of these cravings.  I’ve never been the kind to choose fish over poultry, beef or pork, and I’ve never been a fan of a strong ginger taste in meals.  However, all of a sudden, out of nowhere, it hit me hard. I had to have fish. With ginger. And green onions.

And so I began searching for recipes, and when I saw this one, it pretty much sang out too me. It was a great moment.

This meal literally takes 5 minutes to make, as long as you have cooked rice on hand. It is a cheater recipe, as you are not actually steaming the fish, you are cooking it in the microwave instead…but it still tastes good!!!  In my photograph, the green onions and ginger are sliced rather thickly, so you can alter this recipe depending on how strong your affinity to ginger and green onions is. If you are not the biggest fan, than I recommend using less ginger/green onions, and slicing them smaller.  Other than that, this is a very simple meal to make!

(Cheater) Chinese Steamed Fish

Ingredients:

1 lb fish filets (white fish like flounder, cod, halibut, orange roughy) (I used cod)
2-3 stalks green onions, julienned
2 tbsp ginger, peeled and julienned
3 tbsp soy sauce
4 tbsp vegetable oil (something without flavor)

Directions:

Place filets in single layer on a microwave safe dish. Spread ginger and green onions over the fish. Nuke on high for 2-3 minutes until fish is cooked. Sprinkle soy sauce evenly over the fish. Heat the oil in a small saucepan until it is HOT (i.e. if you dropped a piece of onion in, it would sizzle). Pour the oil over the fish (I think the idea is to sizzle all of the onions and ginger). Serve.

Source: Use Real Butter

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love cheater anything that gets dinner on the table quickly and mess-lessly. Glad it tasted as good as it looks. Happy TGIF!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Paperblog

